In my first post, I began to share a vision of what I want Redefining Female to be. Today, I want to ask you to join me on this journey of uncovering what it truly means to be a woman. (perhaps a strange request, if you happen to male!)

But as someone who believes that relationships are the key to any journey, I wouldn’t dream of inviting you to come with me, without telling you a little bit about myself:

My name is Melissa.

I am in my early 30’s.  I am a wife to an amazing man.  I am a recently resigned youth pastor.  I am a New Englander living in the middle of Pennsylvania.  I enjoy feeding others.  I enjoy baking–especially bread.  I love coffee (understatement).  I am a sister, a daughter, a friend, and a mentor.

Before any of these, I am a woman.  I have struggled since my pre-teens with my weight, what it means to be feminine, embracing my beauty not just my flaws, and with feeling loved.  Like many of us, I have gone through junior high, high school, college, and my twenties with unhealthy misconceptions of what a woman is supposed to look like, and who she is supposed to be.  Over the years, I have at times been able to quickly shrug off some of these misconceptions, but others have penetrated my soul, at times paralyzing me from being or becoming who I truly am.

Lastly, the most important thing to know about me is that I love Jesus.  I don’t know everything about Him, and I don’t love Him perfectly, but I believe that He is the ultimate source and companion for us on this journey.

