A few days after Halloween, my husband and I went to Target for a few necessities (i.e. discounted Halloween candy). And as we made it to the back of the store where the “spooky” candy display was now filled with markdown signs, we couldn’t help but notice that Santa’s workshop was aglow, right in the next aisle. In other words, “Halloween is over, time to start shopping for Christmas!”

As I tried to ignore the glittering Christmas ornaments and lighted trees, I began one of my inner “can’t we just enjoy Thanksgiving” rants. Then I realized, that I was being a little self-righteous. Usually, I don’t even think about Thanksgiving until the week before, and rarely do we think about “preparing for Thanksgiving,” short of buying food and a turkey. So, I began to wonder, what does it look like to be fully prepared “heart-wise” for Thanksgiving?  And the obvious came to mind:

Being specifically and mindfully grateful for all that we have been given.

It is an attitude that should flow from us all year long, only for some reason it is on the “forgettable” list (right up there with “what did I mean to get at the store?”). Sadly, it always seems easier to list the things we want or that we “could really use right now,” than to enter into an awareness of all that we do have, even in the midst of hard times.

So, as we begin the week leading up to Thanksgiving, I thought now would be a great time to be mindfully and specifically grateful for all that I have been given.

I am grateful for:

A husband who is my greatest supporter, best friend, and the most patient man. (oh, and did I mention he’s also the best looking man I know?!).

Our family who, though both sides are states away, show us love and support in great ways. 

Friends to walk with me on this journey.

Students from years past that I am still in touch with.

Local farmers who provide us with the most beautiful foods to eat.

A roof over my head, electricity, heat, water, internet, etc.

Clothes to wear (so often we forget that having multiple outfits is a luxury!) 

The opportunity and ability to learn how to make bread.

Two arms and two legs that give me the ability to serve others, to go on adventures, and when I am disciplined, to work out.

This blog, the opportunity to write, and You who keep coming to read it!

What about you? I would love to hear what you are grateful for!

(I am linked up today with Tina, from She Loves Magazine, and her gratitude list)